Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join Now
Student of The Year Awards
Share |

Annually, one BSW and one MSW student from each accredited social work program in the state is nominates to receive the NASW-Michigan Social Work Student of the Year Award. Each student is recognized during a special regional awards ceremony.



Nominations are accepted from each of the CSWE accredited BSW and MSW social work programs. Student Social Workers of the Year are selected based on the following criteria:

  • Demonstrated leadership qualities (active member of student organizations)
  • Contribution to the positive image of a social work program
  • Commitment to political and community activities
  • Success in academic performance
  • Degree to which the student represents the professional ethics of social work as defined in the NASW Code of Ethics
  • NASW membership

Congratulations to the 2017 Awardees:

  • Shelbby Bambrick, University of Michigan – MSW
  • Brandie Bentley, Eastern Michigan University – BSW
  • Jessica Billups, Marygrove College – BSW
  • Emma Budros, Grand Valley State University – MSW
  • Michelle Danou, Madonna University – MSW
  • Hannah Hoffman, Central Michigan University – BSW
  • Tanesha Holmes, Marygrove College – BSW
  • Olivia Irwin, Saginaw Valley State University – BSW
  • Olivia Kirk, Grand Valley State University – BSW
  • Ginny Kilpela, Northern Michigan University – BSW 
  • Josie Maples, University of Detroit Mercy – BSW
  • Nadine Marshall, Wayne State University – MSW
  • Lene Maxwell, Oakland University – BSW
  • Tina McKellery, Madonna University – BSW
  • John Pelletier, Western Michigan University – BSW
  • Baylin Riva, Cornerstone University – BSW
  • Joanna Rivera, Andrews University – BSW
  • Dena Schwartz, Wayne State University – BSW
  • JoAnne Sarrault, Spring Arbor University –
  • Laura Sohn, Andrews University – MSW
  • Monica Villarreal, Michigan State University – MSW
  • Kelsy Vining, Western Michigan University – MSW
  • Ashley Wiersma, Kuyper College – BSW
  • Shane William Walker, Spring Arbor University – MSW
  • Ashley Zuverink, Calvin College – BSW


Saginaw Valley State University hosts the North/Central Student of the Year Awards ceremony on March 24th.


Southeast Michigan award recipients at Madonna University on March 21st


April 11th West Michigan awards ceremony at Calvin College


Past Award Recipients

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal