Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join NASW!
Share |

Each year, NASW-Michigan honors the unique contributions of our members towards advancing the social work profession through several awards. Your input is requested for nominations for the following awards for the 2017-2018 year:

All nominations are due by December 31, 2017. Awardees will be honored at the Ethics Institute and Business of Social Work Conferences in spring of 2018. Read more about the awards below.


Lifetime Achievement Award

The Lifetime Achievement Award is the most prestigious award given out annually by NASW-Michigan to a social worker who has spent a career advocating for the profession and their clients. Nominees should demonstrate a continued commitment to the principles of social justice through leadership, education and advocacy.


Nominate someone for the Lifetime Achievement Award here.

2015- Linda Reeser, PhD, LMSW

2014-Marjorie Ziefert, LMSW, ACSW

2013-Deanna McGraw, LMSW, ACSW

2012-Kathleen Coulborn Faller, PhD, LMSW

2011-Gloria Jean Thomas

2010-Ronald Koenig, LMSW

2009-Robert Miller

2008-Emily Jean McFadden, LMSW, ACSW

2007-Carolyn Stubbs, LMSW, ACSW

2006-Jacqueline Steingold, LMSW

2005-David Neal, ACSW, CSW

2004-Donald Tripp

2002-Jacob Terpstra

2001-Jean Teschner, CSW, ACSW

2000-Dorothy Harper Jones, PhD, ACSW

1999-Marion File, ACSW


Social Worker of the Year

The Social Worker of the Year Award is presented to an individual who has made a demonstrable difference in such areas as: advocacy for clients, social policy, social work practice, program development, administration, and research.


Nominate someone for Social Worker of the Year here.

2015 - Julie Weckel, LMSW, ACSW

2014-Thalia Ferenc, LMSW

2013- Ron Calery, LMSW, ACSW

2012-Tanya Blackmer, LMSW, ACSW,CSW-G

2011-Dr.Hoda Amine

2010-Ricardo Guzman, LMSW

2009-David Garvin

2008-Elvia Krajewski-Jaime, DSW, LMSW

2007-Janice Fialka, LMSW, ACSW

2006-Patricia Sage, LMSW

2005-Christina Gut, MSW

2004-June Walatkiewicz

2002-Harriet Kirk

2001-Janet L. Howes, ACSW

2000- Howard White, EdD, DCSW, ACSW

1999-Diane McMillan, ACSW


Stabenow Political Leadership Award

The Stabenow Political Leadership Award is given out each year to a social worker or ally that has shown extraordinary political and legislative leadership through advocacy, activism and passion. Nominees should have exhibited exceptional political leadership over the course of their career and used these skills to effect social policy exemplifying social work ethics and values. Nominees are not required to be publicly elected officials



2014-Dr. Ellen Hoekstra

2013-Rep. Marcia Hovey-Wright, LMSW

2012-Michigan League for Human Services

2011-Terry Brown, MSW, MA

2010-William Long, LMSW

2009-Ann Marston

2008-Terry Brown, MSW, MA

2007-Burton Leland, MSW

2006-Maryann Mahaffey

2005-Sharon L. Gire

2004-Debbie Stabenow



Lisa Putman Award for Excellence in Child Welfare

The Lisa Putman Award for Excellence in Child Welfare was named in honor of Lisa Putman, a 28 year old Child Protective Services social worker who was murdered in 1998. This award is not only in memory of her, but recognizes current social workers who demonstrate excellence in the practice area of child welfare. Nominees should have shown a desire to improve the quality of life for youth, educated others on the needs of children and their families, and may have developed innovative programs to address the needs of this vulnerable population.


Nominate someone for the Lisa Putman Award in Excellence in Child Welfare here.

2014-Gary Anderson, PhD, LMSW

Catherine Irene Stuart, MSW

2013- Thomas McNally, MSW, LMSW, CPC

2012-Charles Orr, LMSW, ACSW

2011-Dr. Robert M. Ortega

2010-Kendra Masunas, LLMSW

2009-Carolyn Sutherby

2008-Faye Askew-King, LMSW, ACSW

2007-Laura Martinez, LMSW

2006-Selen Wadhawan, MSW

2005-Scott Virgo, MSW

2004-Charlene Anderson

2002-Betty Brown Chappell

Dawn Mead

2001-Linda Caurdy-Bess, ACSW

2000-Christopher Stabile

1999-Macomb County Protective Service Workers

Public Citizen of the Year

The Public Citizen of the Year Award is given out to a person in a non-social work field that has shown exemplary passion towards social justice and fighting oppression. Nominees should make significant contributions to an area or population of concern to the social work profession such as (but not limited to): at-risk or vulnerable populations, quality of life in communities, social issues or political/legislative advocacy.


Nominate someone for Public Citizen of the year here.


2014-Bettie Kay McGowan, PhD

2013-Paul Palmer

2012-Elizabeth Oates Schuster, PhD

2011-Twesigye Jackson Kaguri

2010-Linda Gleesing

2009-Dr. Barry Saltman

2008-Betty Tableman, BA, MPA

2007-Jane C. Garcia

2006-Governor Jennifer Granholm

2005-State Senator Bev Hammerstrom

2004-Sybyl Atwood

2002-Melanie Winnicker

2001-Mildred McWilliams Jeffrey

2000-Debra Cain

1999-Clifford E. Schrader

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal