Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join Now
Student Center - U-Link Representatives
Share |

U-LINK:NASW-Michigan's Student Initiative!

On October 21, 2018 student leaders from across the state came together for an orientation to NASW and the U-Link Advocacy program. U-Link connects NASW to Michigan’s schools of social works through BSW and MSW students who serve as representatives throughout the course of the academic year.

 

One major project the advocates decided to work on is to host a professional development series of webinars or trainings that will better equip students for life post-graduation. Schools offer a wide range of information and support and the NASW aims be an additional support and advocate to all students. The various workshops in the series will occur over several months and will be regarding the following topics:

 

  • December 2018 - Social Work Licensure
  • January 2019 - Resume and Cover Letters
  • February or March 2019 – Social Work Job Searching and Interviewing Skills
  • May 2019 – Social Work Networking

 

This year’s U-Link team would also like to address some of the issues surrounding salary negotiation in the social work profession. Information regarding social work salaries is not easily accessible and the students reported being unsure of how to navigate a salary negotiation discussion. The 2018-19 U-Link advocates will be working to prepare students for success in their first positions out of school through gathering and distributing this information.

 

Recruitment was another main topic at this year’s orientation. U-Link advocates would like to spread the word to students about the benefits of joining NASW. Social work students are the future of the profession and it is important that they stick together to advocate on behalf of both the profession as a whole, as well as for social justice issues that affect our clients. This can be accomplished by being an active member of NASW. 

 

This year’s U-Link team brings a lot of enthusiasm, engagement, and fresh ideas for serving their campus communities and NASW.  Keep informed with the good work these students are doing in future articles features in The Bridge!


2018-2019 ULink Advocates

Eastern Michigan University

  • Alex Barich, abarich@emich.edu

Michigan State University          

  • Monica Sanchez, sanch293@msu.edu

University Of Michigan – Ann Arbor

  • Anwesha De, anweshad@umich.edu
  • Lia Jacobsen, liaj@umich.edu

University of Michigan - Flint

  • Nikki Inches, ninches@umflint.edu
  • Deb Stallings, dbstallings@gmail.com

Wayne State University              

  • Madelyn Mans, madelynmans@gmail.com
  • Crystal Radford, ab4279@wayne.edu
  • Nicole Rowley, nicolerene96@gmail.com
  • Lauren Waters, lauren.waters@wayne.edu

Western Michigan University   

  • Mercedes Tardella, mercedes.e.tardella@wmich.edu

Spring Arbor University

  • Lindsey Andrews, schmidtlindsey9@gmail.com

Ferris State University

  • Tammy Crawford, crawft11@ferris.edu

Madonna University

  • Rachel Huard, rehuard1@gmail.com
  • Alan Sides, alansides@hotmail.com

Cornerstone University

  • Morgan Martin, morgan.martin@cornerstone.edu
Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal