Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join Now
Student of The Year Awards
Share |

Annually, one BSW and one MSW student from each accredited social work program in the state is nominates to receive the NASW-Michigan Social Work Student of the Year Award. Each student is recognized during a special regional awards ceremony.


Nominations are accepted from each of the CSWE accredited BSW and MSW social work programs. Student Social Workers of the Year are selected based on the following criteria:

  • Demonstrated leadership qualities (active member of student organizations)
  • Contribution to the positive image of a social work program
  • Commitment to political and community activities
  • Success in academic performance
  • Degree to which the student represents the professional ethics of social work as defined in the NASW Code of Ethics
  • NASW membership


2015 Southeast Michigan Awardees

  • Joshua Jerz, Adrian College – BSW
  • Stephanie Peck, Eastern Michigan University – BSW
  • Aaron Suganuma, EMU– MSW
  • Taylor Eberhart, Oakland University – BSW
  • Rosemarie Villarreal, Madonna University – BSW
  • LaTonya Archie-Jackson, Marygrove College – BSW
  • Kayla Hohlbein, University of Detroit Mercy – BSW
  • Lloyd Shelton, University of Michigan – MSW
  • Eric Wilkins and Kristyn Weinert, WSU– BSW
  • Monica Bester, Wayne State University – MSW

2015 West Michigan Awardees

  • Keila Carmona, Andrews University – BSW
  • Karena Griffiths, Andrews University – MSW
  • Chantelle Yazzie, Calvin College – BSW
  • Kathleen Enerson, Cornerstone University – BSW
  • Victoria Hylarides, Grand Valley State University – BSW
  • Jamie Dahlquist, GVSU – MSW
  • Taylor Ezikian, Kuyper College – BSW
  • Larissa Weld, Western Michigan University – BSW
  • Karie Ward, WMU – MSW

2015 Central/Northern Michigan Awardees

  • Mallory Flinn, Central Michigan University—BSW
  • Jamie Terrell, Ferris State University—MSW
  • Celeste Santi, Michigan State University—BSW
  • Marcia Baczkowski, MSU—MSW
  • Sarah Rymkos, Northern Michigan University—BSW
  • Julia Sobah, Saginaw Valley State University—BSW

Past Award Recipients

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal